May 12, 2008

  • Mothers Day.

    My mothers day started out great. At midnight J kissed me and said happy mothers day! In the morning J made a huge breakfast and my son CJ cleaned it up. We only had the one kid here and I was thankful to have him! My others were all somewhere else. Ashley is grown and doing her own thing at college, Sammi is finishing high school where we used to live, Maddi was visiting her father who would not give me the whole weekend but only yesterday - we live 2.5 hours apart...

    Sammi was the first one to call and we talked for quite a while. Ashley called a little later. Maddi called after that but only wanted to talk for about a minute and never said happy mothers day. Oh well - she is only four.

    J and I watched a movie snuggled up in bed and then celebrated mothers day loving each other. Later on he had to go work for the afternoon. CJ and I decided to watch a movie but he did not like it and bailed on me - lol (it was "August Rush" which I recommend). I figured the three of us would do something for dinner so I let him go play. J came home around 3:30. I was reading a book out on the front steps soaking up some sunshine when he pulled in. Honestly I figured he would be another couple hours. Then I looked at the back of his truck - he had a huge projection screen TV int he back. Found out a friend had sold it to him cheap and he figured it would make a good mothers day present. Was I surprised? Um... Yeah. Last thing I expected though and just between you and me... I think it was more for him than me. LOL.

    It is way to big for the space it is in so we will need to rearrange our furniture soon. Thats cool.

    About 4 I asked if he wanted to go out eat and he suggested I just go pick something up and grab another movie. He was doing paperwork and billing customers and getting his week scheduled. Since I am mostly flat broke I decided to cook. Did not really want to cook my own mothers day dinner, but hey - thats what mom's do. Sooo I made shredded chicken spiced mexican style, homemade refried beans, fried some tostadas and all the trimmings. It was really good IMHO, but I was the only one that ate - alone - on the sofa. My son and I then watched "Cloverfield" which I do not recommend - it will give you a headache and piss you off at the end.

    I also ended up putting dinner away when I realized no one else was going to eat.

    About 7pm I started watching another movie "How To Lose a Guy In Ten Days". I have always enjoyed that movie so I enjoyed it again! About 7:30 j came up for air and asked if I wanted to go for a walk. That sounded awesome!!! It was very nice to stretch my legs and put my hand in his as we strolled leisurely around looking at the swans and ducks. We chit chatted and eventually headed home. I asked him how much longer he was going to work and he was not sure. Went back to watching my movie and around 10 I headed up stairs. I felt pretty much deflated as I had hoped to spend the evening with him - not even my son was interested. But he is 13 and had his own stuff planed for the rest of the evening - video games!

    Fell asleep around 11:30 waiting for J. Woke up to an empty bed. He had fallen asleep working downstairs. Guess I can not complain about him working so hard. But I guess I am huh?

    Guess what I am having for lunch today?

Comments (11)

  • The girls got August Rush, I have been putting off watching it. So now I supoose I must. A walk in the sunshine sounds great, now if I could just get some sunshine!

  • I don't care what you say, your mother's day sounds like it was better than mine LOL

    Your lunch? I'm guessing... leftover shredded chicken spiced mexican style, homemade refried beans, fried some tostadas and whatever trimmings are left.

  • I liked Cloverfeild, in spite of all the crazy bouncing around.

    And I think that big-screen TV was for you.  My wife didn't like tablesaw I got her, either.  ;)

  • Sounds like your day was at least not as exciting as mine. LOL My youngest sent me an IM yesterday as she flew out the door to give me best wishes. My son was AWOL until he left me a wish on MySpace. I suspect my son's was intentional. He does goofy things like that. :)

    Hugs'n'Smooches!

  • i miss being able to sit and watch movies....i haven't seen one in ages

  • The day ended up great too, m'dear.  Your kids were are safe, wherever they were; the man you love was in the house with you and there was no dissension in the air.  There are thousands and thousands of women that would trade places with you in a heartbeat.  Hugs.

  • @gwenstylez - Nope he came home for lunch and ate it up. Figures.

    @TheGreenPanther - I watch to many movies I think.

    @fratmom - You are probably right until he did not come home at all last night. Oh wait... He did get back before I woke up at least. Now I am not talking to him. men are such assholes.

  • You should get together with my wife.  I think you probably like all the same movies.

  • @TheTheologiansCafe - That would be fun! Tell her to come on over - I'll make the popcorn (mmm that sounds good...)

  • LOL  Yeah, they do have a habit of quickly undoing what good they've done.  Keep dancing; the music will begin again, I promise you.

  • Hey Beauty!  I was gone for 10 days...but I'm back now. I had a blast on my trip to see one of my "birds"! Now I'm playing Xanga "catch-up" today...and I wanted to stop by and say HEY and leave you some hugs! I love that movie you watched...the "how to lose a guy" one...I saw it too! You need to go see Baby Mama! It is hilarious!!!! I got to see it on Mother's Day. Laughed my hiney off!

    I hope you are doing well today!

    Hugs, C.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment